The Freedom Of Funny

2017 marks a whole new era for the Savanna Comic’s Choice Awards as we announce the first ever Pan African Comic Of The Year award. It has always been part of our vision to open the arms of the local comedy industry to the comedy family on the continent. With the financial support of Savanna, and the advent of technology that allows us to stay in close touch with comics in many countries simultaneously, this vision is now a reality.
Other important dates to keep in mind:
Registration Opens (South Africa & Africa) – Tuesday 28 February 2017
Press Launch – Tuesday 14 March 2017
Registration Closes (Africa Only) – Monday 1 May 2017
Registration Closes (South Africa) – Tuesday 9 May 2017
Voting Opens (Africa Only) – Wednesday 24 May 2017
Voting Closes (Africa Only) – Friday 02 June 2017
Voting Opens (South Africa & Public) – Monday 05 June 2017
Savanna Newcomer Showcase – Sunday 28 May 2017
Airing of NCS on VUZU – Sunday 2 July 2017 (TBC)
Voting Closes ( South Africa & Public) – Friday 07 July 2017
Press Lunch & Nominee Announcement – Wednesday 12 July 2017
Voting Reopens (Audience Choice Nominnes Only) – Wednesday 12 July 2017 @ 17:00
Grilling of a Lifetime – Wednesday 16 August 2017 (Cancelled - read more)
Voting Closes (Audience Choice Award) – Thursday 25 August 2017
Savanna CCA Awards & Afterparty – Saturday 9 September 2017
Airing of CCA on Vuzu – October (TBC)
Book Your Tickets to the Awards

The Awards

2017 Savanna Comics' Choice Awards

The Freedom of Funny

I hope you haven't got plans on the 09th of September 2017 because it is the big awards show and everyone else who is a comedian will be there and you can be to. There will be a lot of laughing and Savanna and comedians hugging, which you don't see everyday, do you?
And on top of all that , you get to see which 11 lucky people are going to take home the Waldo because they are loved so much.
This year, the show is at the Lyric Theatre, Gold Reef City

Book Your Tickets to the Awards

The Categories

2017 Award Categories

These are the 2017 awards up for grabs

1

Savanna Newcomer Of The Year Award

1

Intermediate Award

1

Savanna Comic of the Year Award

1

Breakthrough Award

1

Non-English Comic Award

1

Flying Solo Award

1

Comics’ Pen Award

1

Lifetime Achiever Recipient

1

The Nando's Best Friend Of Comedy Award

1

Audience Choice Award

1

Savanna Pan African Comic Of The Year Award

Latest News