• Comics Choice Awards


South Africa’s biggest and longest-running comedy awards show, the Savanna Comics’ Choice Awards (Savanna CCA’s), will air on VUZU Amp (DStv channel 103) this Saturday 15 October at 20:30.

VUZU Amp received the rights to film and produce this one-time-only exclusive TV special. If you didn’t make it to this year’s awards, it’ll be like you were there! Catch highlights from the show, including the sketches, stand-up, celebrity performances, glitz and fashion. And of course see all the winners accepting their Waldo statuettes.

History was made this year when Tumi Morake became the first South African female comedian to win the coveted title of Edgars Comics of the Year, considered to be the pinnacle of the annual awards.

In another first, the Savanna CCA’s announced the Pan-African Comic of the Year, which will be open to comedians from the rest of Africa from next year.

This year’s recipients included:

Ebenhaezer Dibakwane: Savanna Newcomer’s Award

Goliath & Goliath: Best Friend of Comedy

Yaaseen Barnes: Intermediate Comic Award

Mashabela Galane: Non-English Award

Summary: Savanna Audience Choice Award

Kagiso Lediga: Comics’ Pen Award

Virgil Prins: Breakthrough Act of 2016

Skhumba Hlophe: Flying Solo Award

Tumi Morake: Edgars Comic of the Year Award

Casper de Vries was honoured with The Lifetime Achiever Award.

With support from Savanna Premium Cider, VUZU Amp, Sunday World and Kaya FM 95.9